Colety Elected County GOP Chairman

The Westchester GOP Executive Committee unanimously chose Douglas Colety of New Rochelle as the new Westchester Republican County Committee Chairman. The vote took place on Wednesday, June 27, 2007..

Colety said, “I am humbled by the support of the Executive Committee and I am committed to working hard with my fellow Republicans countywide to earn their confidence as we move forward in a unified way to rebuild our Party.”

Colety’s pledged to strengthen the Westchester GOP by energizing the grassroots of the party. Said Colety, “While we our outnumbered in Westchester by a significant margin, we can still raise the necessary funds to effectively communicate a message that resonates with voters. Working together, I know that we can be victorious in November.”

Colety emphasized the importance of this local election year where Westchester voters will elect the 17 Members of the Board of Legislators, the Mayors of Yonkers, Peekskill, and New Rochelle, and decide critical local races in every town and city, as well as, seats for Supreme, County and Family Court.

Doug Colety has been active in Westchester Republican politics for more than 25 years. In addition to his new role as county chairman, he currently holds positions at the state and local levels as a Member of the New York Republican State Committee and Chairman of the New Rochelle Republican City Committee.

Prior to being elected county chairman, Colety served as Secretary of the Westchester Republican County Committee since 2001 in the administrations of former county chairs Jim Cavanaugh and RoseMarie Panio.

Chairwoman Panio stepped down on June 15, 2007 to run for Supervisor of the Town of Yorktown. Colety will fill the remainder of Panio’s term until the Westchester Republican County Committee has its reorganization meeting in September to elect the chairman for a two-year term. Colety will be seeking election in November.

This post was written by
Douglas A. Colety was elected the 14th Chairman of the Westchester Republican County Committee in 2007, after having served seven years as the committee’s Secretary. He was re-elected as county chairman in 2009 and 2011.